Mushroom & Guinness Stroganoff

One of my favorite things to do for my husband is to take traditionally meat-based meals and turn them vegetarian for him. Of course it’s for me too, but if left to my own devices I’d probably chop up some filet and make old school beef stroganoff.

One day in the market I passed by some delicious looking egg noodles and immediately I was transported back to my granny and her tasty thick stroganoff gravy. I always enjoyed the gravy with mushrooms and onions, but honestly my granny (both of them) tend to make their beef a little well done, which sucks when you have to reach inside a gravy-filled mouth to pull out meat stuck between your teeth. Even thinking back to the last time I made it with meat, I think I made the meat too tough as well so I was pretty excited to try something new.

guinness gravy

My go-to meat substitute is mushrooms because, well because mushrooms are awesome. They are earthy and kind of meaty and they take on different flavors exceptionally well. So I decided to use baby bellas, or crimini mushrooms for this dish.

Instead of your standard gravy though, I often alternate between red wine or dark beer. This night I decided on one of my favorite dark beers, Guinness Extra Stout. It has a chocolate-y flavor that I adore and it pairs so well with mushrooms and noodles that it was kind of a given.

For you carnivores out there, you can add small chopped steak or ground beef to keep it traditional. I prefer ground chicken or turkey because it allows me to splurge (ok pig out) on the noodles, but use whatever you like. Using meat with this recipe, start to brown it before adding onions and mushrooms to the mix to make sure it gets cooked properly.

Those of you who don’t like real beer like Guinness, experiment with different types of broth for a full flavored dish. You can find beef or lamb broth but my absolute favorite is venison broth because it just has so much flavor.

It’s still a little warm for this recipe in my opinion, but if you’re not the one doing the cooking…it’s perfect!

Makes 2 servings

Ingredients

1.5 cup sliced crimini mushrooms
1 onion, chopped
2 cups Egg noodles
4 to 6 oz. Guinness Extra Stout
1¼ tbsp. butter
2½ tbsp. flour
½ tbsp. chopped rosemary
1/3 cup vegetarian broth
Salt & Pepper to taste
1 ¼ tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

mushroom recipes

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of salted water plus ¼ tbsp. oil to a boil.
  2. Heat remaining olive oil over medium high heat in a large skillet.
  3. Add onions and mushrooms to skillet and season with salt and pepper. Stir occasionally to prevent sticking.
  4. Add noodles to boiling water and cook according to instructions.
  5. Before draining noodles, reserve 1/3 cup pasta water.
  6. When onions and mushrooms are starting to crisp brown, stir in butter.
  7. Lightly sift flour over onions and mushrooms until coated, and then add broth and beer.
  8. Bring to a boil then simmer to thicken, about 4 to 6 minutes.
  9. Serve gravy mix on top of egg noodles and a cold mug of beer.
Leave a Reply

